The Language of Light

Just another WordPress.com weblog

New Years Resolution or not?

New Year’s resolution is a commitment that an individual makes to a project or the reforming of a habit, often a lifestyle change that is generally interpreted as advantageous. The name comes from the fact that these commitments normally go into effect on New Year’s Day. Some examples include resolutions to donate to the poor more often, to become more assertive, or to become more environmentally responsible.

There are religious parallels to this secular tradition. People may act similarly during the Christian fasting period of Lent, though the motive behind this holiday is more of sacrifice than of responsibility. During Judaism’s New Year, Rosh Hashanah, through the High Holidays and culminating in Yom Kippur (the Day of Atonement), one is to reflect upon one’s wrongdoings over the year and both seek and offer forgiveness. The concept, regardless of creed, is to reflect uponself-improvement annually.

Recent research shows that while 52% of participants in a resolution study were confident of success with their goals, only 12% actually achieved their goals. Men achieved their goal 22% more often when they engaged in goal setting, a system where small measurable goals are used (lose a pound a week, instead of saying “lose weight”), while women succeeded 10% more when they made their goals public and got support from their friends.

So says Wikipedia, where I did a simple cut and paste..I am a non-participant with the tradition of New Year’s Resolutions…However, I do take time to reflect the year. And I also like to write down what brings me joy or what I would like to accomplish in the up coming year, then I write down on another sheet of paper how I spend my time during the day. So as an example, I may want to spend time with family, finish a book, teach meditation, etc…and then on the sheet of what am I actually doing it might be, watched tv for 2 hours, walked the dogs, worked 6 hours, prepared meal, talked on the phone…I take an accurate look at what I say I want and how I invest my time achieving it. I always find a gap! ALWAYS!! So then I look at what I REALLY want?

We all know there are many ways to do this resolution-tradition. I would love to hear what you do. Wishing you and yours a great Holiday and a prosperous New Year in all things that you are wanting!!

Happy New YEAR!! 2010!!

Peace, Susan

No comments yet»

Leave a comment